Tags

, , , , ,

I have always been bothered by people deleting their Facebook accounts.  I don’t know why it bothers me.  It shouldn’t bother me.  What they want to do with their life is up to them completely.  And believe me, there are some people I wish would delete their Facebook and make my news feed a more pleasant place to be.

You may say, “Why don’t you just delete those people from your friend’s list?”  Here’s why — I don’t do that!  Deleting an internet friend is pretty serious to me, and honestly, rude.  In fact, I can recall only deleting one FB friend in my 7 years as a social networker, and this was because I felt I was being religiously attacked to the point of I had a nightmare about this person.   To me, deleting one friend is rude, and deleting an entire account is rude times 467 (or insert number of friends). That’s just my opinion, but I can see how other people would not agree.

People take offense when they find out they have been deleted in many cases.  This is why I have endured remaining friends with people that I do not agree with, are down-right annoying, or serve as a constant reminder of very painful situations in my life.

I know that many people have very pure and good reasons behind deleteing their FB, and truly are not being rude.  For example, I know many Christians who delete because they feel they are wasting too much time on FB and not focusing on God.  This is a very valid point, and I know true in my case a lot of the time.  But I personally think staying connected to 500+ people every day, knowing what is going on with their lives, and being able to quickly encourage them can’t be bad.

One excuse people give for not wanting to be on FB is that they do not want to read every detail of so many people’s lives.  While, I can agree in some cases, the truth is, I really do care what my cousin had for dinner or what one of the students I have worked with over the years is wearing to prom.  And I think that’s ok.

Some people state that they do not lilke the content of what others post.  Again, I agree that not every thing I read on FB strikes my fancy, but who cares!  I am always about freedom of the post!  It’s your life!  If my 13 year old FB friends want to post about Justin Beiber, I will not be interested, but post away!  If my basset hound friends (or I) want to post 46 pictures of your hound’s paw…please, be my guest!  I am erked when I see a post critisizing another’s post.

You have to choose.  Endure people’s posts or delete them.  But if you delete them, understand the consequences that come along with that.  They may resent being deleted by you.  That’s just the way it is.

Another reason people give for deleting is that they are too mature for FB.  While it is true that 13 year olds do share our cyber space, my MAMAW  and her even older sister have FB accounts!  I guarantee they  more mature than all of you guys put together.  I’m sure we can learn a lesson or two about life from these two ladies, and if we are lucky, they might share an insightful post on FB.

I know I am not one hundred percent right on my views of deleting FB and that there are plenty of valid reasons, but I have to admit every time I read someone’s threats to delete theirs, I can’t help but to think they are being incredibly arrogant.  To me they are saying, I really don’t care what is going on in your life, because my life is so full and enriched that there is no room for anyone else.

Most people that I think of off the top of my head that refuse to join the rest of the world on FB are arrogant people.  There are exceptions, but a lot of times these people will flat out tell you, “I’m too good for that.”  Whatever, that is up to you, but I don’t feel that way.

I have met so many wonderful friends through FB over the years, and though I may have never been privileged to know these people in person, I am lucky to have an avenue to be touched by so many lives.  You may not know this about me, or care to, but I have an extensive network of basset hound-owning FB friends from all over the world.  These people have helped me when my hounds were sick, encouraged me by seeing them all work together to find homes for homeless hounds, and at least one of them makes me smile every single day!  I have even had one extraordinary FB friend help me with Excel when NO ONE else in the world could it seemed!

What a wonderful age it is that I have friends all over the United States, in Canada, and even Italy that share the same passions for ridiculously long dog ears as I do!  I may not be able to read all of the posts from my Italian friends, but their pictures warm my heart!

I have also connected with people through an Adult Congenital Heart Disease group.  I have made some wonderful friends that I can share my concerns with, and they completely understand!

I have connected with old friends that I really missed out with getting to know well in high school or previous years.  I think sometimes to myself, “If I could just go back and not be so weird/quiet/snobby I really think we could have been bffs.”

If you are reading this and have considered deleting your FB, please do not be offended.  This is just my crazy opinion, and you do not have to agree.

If you are reading this and are my FB friend, thank you for improving my life and making my smile!

